Massachusetts “bump stock” confiscation
Friday November 3rd 2017, Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito signed into law a bill that made Massachusetts the first state to ban the “bump stock”, according to the Boston Globe. This bill immediately made it illegal to buy, sell, or offer to sell a bump stock, AND gave MA citizens 90 days to forfeit their bump stocks. You might be thinking to yourself that this is old news, but today it has been brought to my attention that the State of MA has issued warning letters to its citizens, seen below.
You will notice that trigger cranks are also included on this ban and confiscation, which does not seem to have been openly reported to the people until the issuance of this letter. Also you will see towards the end of the letter it tells the citizen how the confiscation will be conducted, “…you should contact your local police department or the Massachusetts State Police to get details on how to transfer custody of the prohibited item to the police for destruction. Retention of such a prohibited item beyond the 90 day grace period will expose the owner to criminal prosecution.”
Nowhere in this letter does the State talk about compensation. The bump stock MSRP is from $179 all the way up to $329. The state of MA expects its population, INCLUDING FFL HOLDERS (gun stores), to hand over their now prohibited items with no compensation under the threat of criminal prosecution? That doesn’t sound very American OR Constitutional. Never-the-less the lawmakers come out and say how they support the second amendment whilst at the same time actively confiscating 2A items.
“Governor Baker and Lieutenant Governor Polito support the Second Amendment to the Constitution and Massachusetts’ strict gun laws, including the ban on assault weapons and bump stocks, and are pleased that the commonwealth continues to lead in passing common sense reforms,” said Baker administration spokesman Brendan Moss in a statement.
A bold statement considering there was no public hearing held before passing this law back in November.
Common sense reforms? You just robbed the people and small businesses of your state thousands of dollars and threatened them with criminal prosecution if they do not obey. What did the state determine to be a fair sentence if caught with the newly prohibited items?
According to the Gun Owners Action League of Massachusetts, “The provision passed by the legislature … allows for excessive punishment including life imprisonment, with a minimum sentence of 18 months, for the mere possession of these accessories,” which seems excessive considering that the mandatory minimum sentencing for selling cocaine, meth and pcp is 12 months according to the Will Brownsberger State Senator website.
THIS is why the 2A community is so against registration of firearms. Massachusetts along with D.C. and 7 other states (California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey and New York) require some form of firearm registration. This is how the gun grabbers know where to send these letters, and know who to target. Massachusetts is the perfect example of how registration is the first step, and makes it much easier, for confiscation.